Return to .303 NO.4 MK I ENFIELD RIFLE Original Condition
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
2 of 5 Grade A? November 18, 2021
Reviewer: Josh from UT  
After two months of waiting I got my Grade A Savage.
Pros: The bore seems clean, the wood matches, is not broken or have obvious cracks and the bolt is in okay condition.
Cons: Every metal part on the rifle (minus the bolt) had rust and some parts were pitted. The rear sight was upgraded at some point to a milled sight, however, it was so rusted & worn the numbers are hardly visible. I pulled the rifle apart to clean it and found pitting. Where the stock was in contact with metal is the worst.
The wood is in rough shape. (which I expected) It is very banged up, chipped, dented and loose, it needed a lot of TLC to clean the dirt and grime out of the vacancies and tighten up the wiggles in the butt stock and handguard.
I've always wanted this rifle, and I am glad I have it now, but I feel I got the bottom of the barrel. I think paying extra for a Savage made the overall quality of the rifle drop from the Good-Very Good condition to Fair due to lack of inventory.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Grade A No.4 MK I September 28, 2021
Reviewer: Oland from TX  
Pleasantly surprised. Ordered a Grade A unaltered/original condition No.4 MK I and that's what I received. Rifle cleaned up nicely. Nice stock. Good bolt. Good bore. Nice metal. Nothing missing or broken. All parts appear to be correct. These rifles will need a little cleaning and elbow grease but are worth it. Mine appears to have been put into storage and never issued by the Ethiopian military.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Collector Grade No4 mk 1/2/3 May 24, 2021
Reviewer: Jeff HUston from Minnesota  
Just make sure you read the description so you are clear what you are receiving.  The listing says "no 4 mk 1"  however in the actual description they are clear you could receive a a number of the different series of No 4's. I choose a collector grade and received just that. A No4 Mk2 that is all matching besides the magazine which appears to be new.Wood is in decent condition, bore looks great. Overall it'll clean up to be a nice rifle.  Shipping was very fast at around a week.

These are VERY dirty, full of sand and smell horrible. For them to be sitting in the conditions they were and come out in pretty nice shape is a miracle.Just be realistic with your expectations. Turn in rifles that sat basically in a barn with sand floors for many years.  Definitely cool rifles with an interesting history.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Hand Select No. 4 MK. 1 April 5, 2021
Reviewer: Seth from Washington  
Paid for hand select option. Had professional gunsmith inspect it and clean it and he was impressed by its condition for how old it is. Barrel was very dirty but after cleaning it we found the rifling in good condition. Definitely has been well used and has been factory refurbished with the year 1959 stamped under the original 1942 date. All parts and pieces are there and fully functional including the cool micrometer rear sight. Fun to shoot, and cool to look at. Thanks RTI.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
3 of 5 No4 Mk1? February 1, 2021
Reviewer: Cory from NY  
I ordered a No4 Mk1 in Original Condition and paid extra for "collector grade". I was expecting it to be a No4 Mk1 in its original configuration... well, I received a franken-rifle. Parts are mixed between a Mk1 and Mk2, the forestock is for a Mk2 even though the trigger is not set up for it, its fitted VERY poorly and missing the very hard to find reinforcing screw wich is kind of the deciding factor for me. The butt plate is completely corroded and the rifle is missing both pins for the front cap as well as the ejector screw. The bore is also in pretty poor condition and the wood although in "good" condition is mismatched by color as well as type. I was really expecting something closer to a "B+" grade with a decent bore for having paid extra. I feel I received a low "C" grade rifle while paying for a high "B" grade. Fortunately, their customer service department is responsive and has offered me a solution. I will follow up with this review once the issues are resolved.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 No 4 Mk1 January 27, 2021
Reviewer: Bill from VA  
Ordered it about 3 weeks ago and got it in on Saturday; first impression was a very used and dirty rifle, after cleaning and treating the wood, I have a very beautiful No4 mk1. The bore was in a great state, no rust, no hidden problems under the furniture.
As it says in the description it definitely needs to be cleaned.

Overall, for no special selection I received a very nice rifle.

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 No4 Mk1 hand select December 30, 2020
Reviewer: scott from OHIO  
The first rifle I received was a 1943 Long Branch No4 MK1.  The barrel was shot out, a 303 bullet was swallowed whole. The first 3inches of the muzzle were completely worn out. The bolt head had severe over-rotation leaving the guns headspace way off. The bolt receiver rail had a chip, not too big of a deal, but not exactly ideal. I emailed Royal Tiger about the issues and they sent me a return label within 24hr. I returned the faulty rifle and 2 weeks later I received another Long Branch NO4 MK1. The new rifle is MUCH better than the first. The barrel is good, no major rust or pitting, bolt rotation within spec, and no other significant issues. All in all I am pleased with the new rifle and the overall experience with Royal Tiger. The first rifle was a disaster, however Royal Tiger was very responsive and made it right. If you are thinking about buying one or have already bought one make sure you inspect it throughly before shooting.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
3 of 5 Rifle is great, but the grading is way off December 27, 2020
Reviewer: Jacob from UT  
I ordered a hand select Collectors grade and was happy to receive a Savage No4 Mk1*. I agree with an earlier comment that the grading is more in line with B than an A or even collectors. The rifle was filthy, which was as expected given its history. However, the A grade details no pitting and I expected even better for the Collectors option. None of the serials match, which isn't guaranteed in the listing but I was disappointed given the Collectors cost premium. Significant wood softness on contact points with screws, and the magazine has a small dent, 90% pitted and 50% covered with rust. I'm still cleaning it, so I haven't gotten it to the range yet, but the barrel appears ok. All the parts are there. Except for the magazine, say this could be a near A grade, but the magazine is awful and a huge disappointment.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
3 of 5 Customer service great, grading is off. Collector? November 25, 2020
Reviewer: Pat from Ohio  
Ordered Lee-Enfield no. 4 Mk 1 on Oct. 15. Paid for collector grade Savage or Long Branch. Received a Savage with shot out barrel, lightly cracked rear hand guard and nasty nick on a refinished crown. Contacted customer service. “A” was very nice and even gave me a paid tag from FedEx to send the rifle back. I called customer service several times and every time “A” would go back and check on my order personally. Her customer service was excellent. Second rifle arrived week of Thanksgiving. It is a 43 Savage. Barrel is lightly pitted, but serviceable. This rifle is a mix master with parts from several countries. Finish is worn, but markings are strong. This is not what they promised me, as hand select is listed as “nice” finish. Rifle shipped with a broken extractor and broken magazine spring and follower. I would put this rifle on par with the low end of CMP Field Grade rifle. As to RTI’s grading, it is off. I expected more with the up charge.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
3 of 5 Savage Arms Enfield October 9, 2020
Reviewer: Ian from Pennsylvania  
I received a very dirty Savage Enfield rifle, non-numbers matching bolt. The entire gun itself isn't in terrible condition. It cleaned up nicely and the bore is in great shape, however I was led to believe the gun would be numbers matching, which it was not. Overall, not a bad gun, but if I would have known it was not numbers matching I would not have purchased the Savage/Long Branch option.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items